Programme of the 18th Baltic conference on Intellectual Cooperation

Thursday, April 20

11.00   Introduction and welcome speeches
Chair Baiba Rivža
Presidents of the participating Academies of Sciences:
Ivars KALVIŅŠ (Latvia),
Juras BANYS (Lithuania),
Tarmo SOOMERE (Estonia),
Mats GYLLENBERG (Finland),
Edwin KREUZER (Germany),

Latvenergo Didzis SOLIMS
12.00–13.00Lunch break 
13.00–15.45Plenary session  
Chairs Ivars Kalvins and Antra Boca
 13.00 – 13.30Dr. WILLIAM GILLETT, EASAC, Director of Energy ProgrammeScience-based advice on policies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the EU energy sector to net zero by 2050
13.30 -14.00 Prof. PETER LUND, Aalto University, FinlandDeep decarbonisation of energy systems through advanced systems solutions
 14.00 – 14.30Prof. ENN LUST, University of Tartu, Member of the Estonian Academy of Sciences, Development of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies in Estonia
 14.30 – 15.00Dr. ALGIRDAS KALIATKA, Chief Research Associate, Lithuanian Energy Institute, Member of the Lithuanian Academy of SciencesResearch in Lithuanian Energy Institute for the Energy Sector Development
 15.00 – 15.30Prof. ANDRIS PIEBALGS, Professor, European University, ex-Commissioner on Energy (2004-2009)Are pipelines and ships an ‘either or’ infrastructure decision for Europe’s hydrogen economy?
15.45–16.10 Coffee break 
16.10–18.00Session No 1
Chairs Tarmo Soomere and Andris Sutka
 16.10 – 16.30Dr. GEDIMINAS STANKŪNAS, Chief Research Associate, Lithuanian Energy Institute. Member of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences, How close are we to obtaining nuclear fusion’s ‘limitless’ energy?
 16.30 – 16.50Prof. MAARJA GROSSBERG-KUUSK, Tallinn University of Technology, President of the Estonian Young Academy of SciencesDevelopment of next generation photovoltaic technologies in Estonia
 16.50 – 17.10Dr. ANDRIS ŠTERNBERGS, Latvijas Institute of Solid State Physics, University of LatviaChallenging scientific issues for sustainable future energetics raised by the energy crisis
 17.10 – 17.30Dr. VIDAS LEKAVIČIUS, Chief Research Associate, Lithuanian Energy InstituteEnergy Poverty in the Baltic States
 17.30 – 18.00Diskusija

Friday, April 21

9.00 –10.45Session No 2
Chairs Edwin Kreuzer and Jūras Banys
 9.00 – 9.20Prof. DETLEF SCHULZ, University of Hamburg, Member of the Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Hamburg,  Germany     Hydrogen-based Smart Energy System – A way out of the energy crisis?
 9.20 – 9.40Prof. ANNA MUTULE, Riga Technical University, Head of Smart Grid Research Centre, Institute of Physical Energetics, LatviaThe evolution towards smart grids: drivers and potential impacts
 9.40 – 10.00Prof. DMITRI VINNIKOV,Tallinn University of Technology, Riga Technical University, Visiting Professor, Member of the Estonian Academy of SciencesFuture-Proof Power Electronic Systems for Residential Micro grids
 10.00 – 10.20Prof. ANDRIS ŠUTKA, Riga Technical University, Member of the Latvian Academy of SciencesInnovative amphoteric decoupled water electrolysis –  a simple concept to split water and produce H2 with high efficiency in a cheap and safe way
 10.20 – 10.45Discussion
10.45–11.10Coffe Break 
11.10–12.30Session No. 3
Chairs Mats Gyllenberg and Tomas Vaiman
11.10 – 11.30 Prof. MIKAEL COLLAN, VATT Institute for economic research, FinlandThe Finnish price of electricity transfer dilemma – pricing driven by the regulation model
 11.30 – 11.50Dr. MODRIS GREITĀNS, Managing Director, Institute of Electronics and Computer sciences, Member of the Latvian Academy of Sciences          Energy efficiency: artificial versus human intelligence
 11.50 – 12.10Dr. RALFAS LUKOŠEVIČIUS, Director,  LtD. Addeco LithuaniaDevelopment of the biomethane sector in LithuaniaFuture-Proof Power Electronic Systems for Residential Micro grids
 12.10 – 12.30Prof. JAREK KURNITSKI, Tallinn University of Technology, Aalto University, Adjunct, Member of the Estonian Academy of SciencesTowards zero-emission building stock

Chair Olga Bagdanova
13.30–14.00Baltic Academy award ceromony
Chair Tatjana Koķe
Medal winners are:
prof. Jūras Banys,
prof. Baiba Rivža ,
prof. Arvi Hamburg
14.00–14.45Lunch at the Latvian Academy of Sciences 
14.45–15.30 Dr. Sonja GRÄBER-MAGOCSI: Hamburg Research Institute (HIAS)HIAS Research Fellowships. presentation and discussion
15.30Meeting of the Presidents of the Academies of Sciences

Meeting of the Baltic Young Academies